Helping those who dream of helping others

By Alex Branch

Elizabeth Baquet

Weldon Eugene Bond Jr., DO, was the first Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine student to walk across the stage when the inaugural class graduated in 1974.

While that honor was the result of his last name’s fortuitous place in the alphabet, Bond was proud to be part of the Fort Worth medical school’s history.

Though he passed away six years ago, Dr. Bond would be equally proud that a scholarship established in his memory helps train current TCOM students to become innovators in health care, said Colleen Bond Steeger, Dr. Bond’s daughter.

So Steeger said she is excited to attend the first UNT Health Science Center Scholarship Banquet on Jan. 30 to honor donors and scholarship recipients.  It will be Steeger’s first opportunity to meet Elizabeth Baquet, the recipient of the Weldon Eugene Bond Jr., DO, Memorial Scholarship.

Steeger has received letters of appreciation from Baquet, but they never have met in person.

“I’ll be there representing my family,” Steeger said. “My father believed strongly in TCOM and would be delighted to know that he helped someone else fulfill their dreams of becoming a doctor.”

Paying for graduate or professional school often is an overwhelming experience for students. While the Health Science Center strives to make its programs affordable, students graduate with an average federal loan debt ranging from $17,000 to $116,000 depending on the program.

During his career, Dr. Bond was active in TCOM alumni activities and served as an Associate and Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Family Medicine. He cared for many elderly and low-income patients at his family practice in Grand Prairie, Steeger said.

He was known for his personable bedside manner.

“He didn’t just learn about patients’ health, but also their families,” Steeger said. “It’s a bedside manner you might not see as much today, but he believed that was the way to practice medicine.”

Baquet, a second-year student, said she was honored to earn the scholarship in Dr. Bond’s name.

“This scholarship is an encouragement to me that I am completing my goals and it is evidence that my hard work is not going unnoticed,” she said. “It is a positive motivator to propel me into my studies for the coming year, with the goal of being a competent and able physician.”

Scholarships awarded in fiscal year 2016-17

  1. A.E. Brooks Endowed Scholarship
  2. Weldon Eugene Bond, Jr. D.O. Memorial Scholarship
  3. The Rachel Dauphin Memorial Scholarship Fund
  4. The Dunlap Family Scholarship
  5. The Tom Hanstrom Memorial Scholarship
  6. The W.R. & Constance Jenkins Scholarship Fund
  7. Jeremiah G. Mills Memorial Scholarships
  8. The Moorman Family Scholarship
  9. The Elizabeth Reeves Henning Scholarship
  10. The David M. Richards, D.O., Scholarship
  11. James O. Royder, D.O., Endowed Scholarship
  12. Ruby B. Dean Scholarship for Physician Assistant Studies
  13. Ruby B. Dean Scholarship for Physical Therapy Program
  14. Dr. Gil B. Scarnati Scholarship
  15. The Dr. C.W. and Joanie Spellman Endowed Scholarship Fund
  16. The Wayne & Norma Lee Stockseth Endowed Scholarship Fund
  17. Ray & Edna Stokes Endowed Scholarship
  18. Rev. Barbara Wordinger Scholarship Fund in the Visual Sciences
  19. Justin Capers, PA Scholarship
  20. The Alan and Marianne Rose Levine TCOM Pediatric Award
  21. MaKasha Colonvega TCOM Memorial Scholarship
  22. PA Endowed Scholarship
  23. SPH Endowed Scholarship
  24. TCOM Alumni Association Scholarship
  25. TCOM Memorial Scholarship
  26. Graduate Student Association Scholarship

For a list of full scholarship opportunities:


Recent News

Techstars Demo Day.
  • On Campus
|Dec 1, 2022

Techstars Demo Day brings innovation to the historic stockyards

For the last 13 weeks, the founders of 10 of the world’s most innovative startups have been in Fort Worth perfecting their new physical health technology. They are part of the world’s first physical health accelerator, and now they are ready to show the fruits of their labor. Techstars Demo D...
Dr. Sid O'bryant Award
  • Our People
|Dec 1, 2022

HSC named the winner of the D Magazines 2022 Achievement in Medical Research Award

The extensive research done by Dr. Sid O’Bryant and his team at the Institute of Translational Research has earned the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth the 2022 Medical Research Award by D Magazine. Dr. O’Bryant, the executive director of the ITR and a professor at t...
Dr. John Licciardone
  • Our People
|Nov 30, 2022

Key study results from HSC’s PRECISION Pain Research Registry published in JAMA Network Open

The Journal of the American Medical Association – Network Open has published findings from a recent HSC study about chronic lower back pain, race and the patient-physician relationship. The study revealed that Black patients reported worse outcomes for low back pain intensity and back-related d...
Ram flyer
  • Community
|Nov 23, 2022

Free pop-up medical, vision and dental clinic is just a week away

  The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth and Remote Area Medical – RAM® — a nonprofit provider of pop-up clinics that delivers free quality dental, vision and medical care to those in need — are bringing the free health care clinic to Dallas on Dec. 3 and 4....