Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences recognizes award winners

June 5, 2007

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth recognized its top students recently at its annual awards banquet, held at the Cultural District Banquet Centre.

  Josh Gatson accepted this yearâ??s Graduate Faculty Award for the Outstanding Graduate of the Year. Gatson, who received a PhD from the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience last month, has been the vice president and president of the Black Graduate Student Association, and he received the 2006 Grass Fellowship in Neuroscience. Gatson will begin his postdoctorate fellowship in the lab of Dr. Sam Gandy, a world-renowned Alzheimerâ??s researcher, at Emory University in July.

  The Edward E. Elko Award for Distinguished Service was presented by the Graduate Student Association to the family of Rachel Dauphin for their efforts to raise money for the Rachel Dauphin Memorial Scholarship and to promote the Health Science Center and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. Because of their efforts, funding is available to award the Dauphin Scholarship for the next 16 years. Rachel Dauphin, a GSBS student who lost her battle with cancer in 2005, was a recipient of the Elko Award.

   Other awards presented at the ceremony included:

  Discipline Awards

  Tariq Alkhazin  – Outstanding Graduate Student in Forensic Genetics

Daniel Clearfield – Outstanding Graduate Student in Clinical Research & Education â?? Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine

Sarah Ross – Outstanding Graduate Student in Clinical Research & Education â?? Family Medicine

Nashila AbdulRahim – North American Primary Care Research Student of the Year Award

TJ Bartosh – Outstanding Graduate Student in Cell Biology & Genetics

Priya Muthu-Thanu – Outstanding Graduate Student in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Rusha Thomas – Outstanding Graduate Student in Microbiology & Immunology

Subhamoy Dasgupta – Outstanding Graduate Student in Biomedical Sciences

Anupam Sule – Outstanding Performance in Core Curriculum – Traditional Exam

David Ho – Outstanding Performance in Core Curriculum – CRM/MEDS

Jessica Alexander, Tory McFarlin and Brett Mueller – Outstanding Graduate Students in Clinical Research Management

R. Matthew Brothers – Outstanding Graduate Student in Integrative Physiology

Joshua Gatson – Harbans Lal Award for the Outstanding Graduate Student in Pharmacology & Neuroscience

      Graduate Student Association Awards

  James Flynn – Outstanding Member

Carolyn Polk – Outstanding Staff Member

Dr. Harlan Jones – Outstanding Faculty Member
Rachel Dauphin Family – Edward E. Elko Award for Distinguished Service

      Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Awards

Dr. Jerry Simecka – Benjamin L. Cohen Outstanding Research Award

Joshua Gatson – Graduate Faculty Award for Outstanding Graduate of 2006-2007

      Sigma Xi Membership

Scott Duncan, Vidhya Rao, TJ Bartosh, Linda Mooberry, Matt Brothers, Angela Brimhall, Tara Tovar, Gulab Zode, Shekhar Deo, James Flynn, Megan Hawkins, Dr. Scott Ransom, Dr. Jamboor Vishwanatha 


Hsc Tcom Gold Humanism Society Inductees Fc
TCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society welcomes new inductees 

By Steven Bartolotta The humanistic side of medicine is alive and well at Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The TCOM Chapter of the Arnold P Gold Foundation inducted 45 students and four faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society on the campus of The University of North Texas H...Read more

Jun 15, 2021

John Licciardone Hsc Fort Worth Fc
eHealth interventions could help African-American patients in battle with chronic pain

By Steven Bartolotta The PRECISION Pain Research Registry at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth has identified important racial disparities in pain management that became more evident during the COVID-19 pandemic. Its study recently published in the special COVID...Read more

Jun 14, 2021

Diana Cervantes. Assistant Professor Biostatistics & Epidemiology
Dr. Diana Cervantes named among Fort Worth’s ‘most influential’ for public health service during the pandemic

By Sally Crocker Dr. Diana Cervantes has spent the last year keeping people informed and updated on all things coronavirus, and now she’s being recognized as one of Fort Worth Inc.’s “400 Most Influential People” for helping protect the community’s health during the pandemic. Dr....Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Opal Lee photo by Rodger Mallison/Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Commemorating Juneteenth

By Diane Smith-Pinckney On June 19 1865, Major General Gordan Granger marched into Galveston with a critical message: “The people of Texas are informed that, in accordance with a Proclamation from the Executive of the United States, all slaves are free.”  This was the opening se...Read more

Jun 8, 2021