Gov. Perry appoints 3 new members to Board of Regents

August 28, 2009

Three new members, including two alumni, join the University of North Texas System Board of Regents following Gov. Rick Perry’s appointments to the UNT System’s governing body.

The governor named G. Brint Ryan of Dallas, Steve Mitchell of Richardson and Michael R. Bradford of Midland, as the newest members to the board. All three will serve until May 22, 2015.

The new members will replace former Chairman Gayle W. Strange, Robert A. Nickell and Rice M. Tilley, Jr., whose terms expired May 22.

The board elected C. Dan Smith to serve as the new chairman; Smith will be replaced in his former role as vice chairman by Jack A. Wall. Jennifer Ozan replaces Meghan Vittrup as the UNT System’s student regent.

About G. Brint Ryan
Ryan is founder, CEO and managing principal of Ryan Inc., a leading tax services firm located in Dallas. He received his bachelor’s and master’s of science degrees in UNT’s five-year accounting program.

As an alumnus, Ryan’s long-time partnership with UNT includes a generous gift of $1 million to his alma mater in 2006. Additionally, his broad interest in education extends to the Dallas community with a $1 million contribution to UNT Dallas earlier this year. This gift was the largest from an individual in the history of the Dallas campus.

He was named a Distinguished Alumnus, UNT’s most prestigious alumni award, earlier this year. Ryan also received the Outstanding Alumnus Serviced Award in 2003, and he was named Alumnus of the Year by the Department of Accounting in 1997.

Ryan is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and Texas Association of Business Executive Committee, and is a board member of the Texas Taxpayers and Research Association.

About Steve Mitchell
Mitchell is a lead business systems analyst for Thomson Reuters, and he received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in UNT’s five-year accounting program.

Mitchell served as Richardson mayor from 2007 to 2009, and he has served on the Richardson City Council since 2005.
He is a member of the Commission on State Emergency Communications, Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition and Richardson YMCA Board of Directors and a past member of the Richardson City Plan Commission and Sign Control boards.

About Michael R. Bradford
Bradford is Midland County Judge and an oil and gas producer. He is president of the Natural Resources Foundation of Texas, founder of the Natural Resources Institute and chairman of the Conference of Urban Counties.

Throughout his career, he has served on several commissions and boards, including the Finance Commission of Texas. He is a member of the Texas Supreme Court Advisory Board on Children’s Issues and past director of the Texas Lyceum.
Bradford received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in business administration from Texas Christian University.

Hsc Tcom Gold Humanism Society Inductees Fc
TCOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society welcomes new inductees 

By Steven Bartolotta The humanistic side of medicine is alive and well at Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The TCOM Chapter of the Arnold P Gold Foundation inducted 45 students and four faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society on the campus of The University of North Texas H...Read more

Jun 15, 2021

John Licciardone Hsc Fort Worth Fc
eHealth interventions could help African-American patients in battle with chronic pain

By Steven Bartolotta The PRECISION Pain Research Registry at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth has identified important racial disparities in pain management that became more evident during the COVID-19 pandemic. Its study recently published in the special COVID...Read more

Jun 14, 2021

Diana Cervantes. Assistant Professor Biostatistics & Epidemiology
Dr. Diana Cervantes named among Fort Worth’s ‘most influential’ for public health service during the pandemic

By Sally Crocker Dr. Diana Cervantes has spent the last year keeping people informed and updated on all things coronavirus, and now she’s being recognized as one of Fort Worth Inc.’s “400 Most Influential People” for helping protect the community’s health during the pandemic. Dr....Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Opal Lee photo by Rodger Mallison/Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Commemorating Juneteenth

By Diane Smith-Pinckney On June 19 1865, Major General Gordan Granger marched into Galveston with a critical message: “The people of Texas are informed that, in accordance with a Proclamation from the Executive of the United States, all slaves are free.”  This was the opening se...Read more

Jun 8, 2021