Faculty ‘Academy’ created to further educational excellence

The UNT Health Science Center has created an Academy of Medical Educators (AME) that is dedicated to educational excellence through formal faculty training directed at developing new approaches to organizing curricular activities and instructional methods.

"We are assisting faculty in the creation of a learning environment that helps students transform declarative knowledge — knowledge of ‘what’ — into procedural knowledge — knowledge of ‘how to,’" said Frank Papa, DO, associate dean for curricular design and faculty development. "This development program will assist our faculty to teach students to do more than just memorize facts before they enter clinical rotations. Our pre-clinical program will enable our students to apply clinically relevant knowledge, skills and attitudes from day one on their clinical rotations."

The AME consists of approximately 50 faculty members and will meet every Wednesday morning to review learning theories, curricular design elements, classroom activities, and instructional methods of particular importance to developing clinically relevant competencies in medical students.

Recent News

7281bfad 8597 4cef 80de B58ea8a26ab5
  • Community
|Jun 10, 2024

North Texas Asthma Summit to improve asthma outcomes for children

Representatives from 10 North Texas organizations will come together Wednesday with one common goal in mind: improving health outcomes for children with poorly controlled asthma. The goal of the North Texas Asthma Summit is to develop community partnerships to help these children who frequently e...
Dobbs Headshot
  • Our People
|Jun 7, 2024

School of Health Professions welcomes three new staff members

The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s School of Health Professions is excited to announce three new staff members in the dean’s office. Christa Lo, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C, joins SHP as associate dean. In her role, she will assist in overseeing the school’s academic...
  • Our People
|Jun 6, 2024

TCOM Alumnus Dr. Frederick White receives the Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service from the AOCR

In recognition of his outstanding leadership, dedication and service, Frederick E. White, DO, FAOCR, a 1977 graduate from the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, was selected as the recipient of the American Osteopathic College ...
Hampton 5
  • On Campus
|Jun 5, 2024

Hampton University representatives visit HSC to build partnerships

A delegation of five representatives from Hampton University visited The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth’s campus on Friday. Hampton University is a private, historically Black university founded in 1868 in Hampton, Virginia. The group included President of Ham...