Eight join UNTHSC Foundation Board of Directors

March 25, 2010

The UNT Health Science Center Foundation Board of Directors welcomes eight community leaders as new members:

Henry Borbolla III is vice president and business development officer for Fort Worth’s Community Bank.  He also serves on the board of directors for Casa Manana Theatre and is a member of the Fort Worth Downtown Design Review Board. He is active in Downtown Fort Worth Inc., The Day Resource Center for the Homeless, The Multicultural Alliance, the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation, Catholic Charities, the Tarrant County Housing Partnership and Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Fort Worth.

John Lloyd Crawford, MD, is a board certified general and vascular surgeon who has practiced in Fort Worth since 1985. He is an adjunct clinical assistant professor of surgery at the Health Science Center. He has served as president of the Fort Worth Surgical Society and spent 10 years doing mission surgery in Guatemala with HELPS International, the last three as Fort Worth medical team leader. He recently served on the board of directors for the Fort Worth Public Library and continues to serve on the finance committees of North Texas Specialty Physicians and Texas Health Care and as a surgical consultant to the TCU student health center.

Michael M. Dallas, CFP, owns Michael Dallas Wealth Management and has written several books and articles on retirement planning and wealth management. He is a sponsor for the Better Business Bureau 2009 Integrity in Business and Education Awards, a reviewer for the Certified Financial Planner board of standards, active in the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce and president of Fort Worth’s Scenic Shores Neighborhood Association.

Marie Holliday, DMD, is a dentist in private practice and owner of Parfumerie Marie Antoinette and Marie Antoinette’s Flowers to Go in Fort Worth’s Sundance Square. She is a member of the Fort Worth Convention & Visitors Bureau Executive Committee and is active in Downtown Fort Worth Inc. She is a past member of the Tarrant County Arts Council, past local coordinator for the Black Congress on Health & Law and a recipient of the Texas State Legislature’s Black Caucus Congressional Award for Professionals.

James J. Kerrigan is vice president and health care analyst for Luther King Capital Management in Fort Worth and a guest lecturer for the TCU Educational Investment Fund. He is a chartered financial analyst and member of the Dallas Society of Financial Analysts and the CFA Society of Dallas/Fort Worth. He was graduated cum laude from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Benjamin Dagley Loughry is managing partner for Integra Realty Resources DFW, LLP, the largest valuation/consulting company in the country.  He was the 2009 chairman of the board for the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce, past president of the Greater Fort Worth Association of Realtors and a member of the TCU Chancellor’s Advisory Committee. He has been a major sponsor for the (TCU football coach) Gary Patterson Foundation, as well as a patron for the Ryan Place Improvement Association. Loughry is active in the American Heart Association. He served on the City of Fort Worth’s Aviation Advisory Board from 2003 to 2007.

Randall C. Perkins, DO, is a family practice physician in Grapevine, Texas, and he is a graduate of the Kansas City University of Medicine and BiosciencesCollege of Osteopathic Medicine. He has served as city health officer for Granbury, Texas; board member for the Pecan Valley Mental Health and Mental Retardation; and as president of his medical school alumni association. He is a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.

G. Douglas Tatum Jr., MD, is an assistant professor for the Health Science Center and practices obstetrics and gynecology for UNT Health at Fort Worth’s John Peter Smith Hospital. He serves as a trustee for Fort Worth’s Cook Children’s Hospital and as a board member for the Southwestern Gynecological Assembly. Tatum is acting director of the Health Science Center’s FOR HER, an organization dedicated to health issues of women of all ages and backgrounds.

Rita Fc
Women’s networking group started by TCOM leader earns national award

By Steven Bartolotta In 2007, TCOM’s Dr. Rita Patterson and Dr. Jennifer Wayne, a professor at Virginia Tech, recognized the need for women in the field of bioengineering to meet together, network, mentor and increase the representation of women in the field. Thus the ASME Bioengineering...Read more

Jun 23, 2021

Dr. Sid O'Bryant
Early findings of innovative study of Alzheimer’s among diverse populations available to dementia researchers

  A growing trove of data to help scientists understand the biology of Alzheimer’s disease among diverse populations within the context of sociocultural, behavioral and environmental factors is now available through the Institute for Translational Research at The University of North Te...Read more

Jun 22, 2021

Vic Holmes, Mpas, Edd, Pa C Assistant Professor
HSC Pride: Increased pronoun use is an emerging trend among health professionals

By Diane Smith-Pinckney The embroidery on Vic Holmes’ black scrubs identify him as a physician assistant and an ally to LGBTQ+ patients. The words, stitched under a rainbow-colored Caduceus pin and near his heart, read: “Vic Holmes, PA-C, He/Him/His, Family Medicine.” Pronouns are...Read more

Jun 21, 2021

Hsc Katie Pelch
Public health scientist lends expertise to national database addressing safer use of chemicals in our environment

By Sally Crocker Katie Pelch, PhD, wants you to know what’s in our environment and how the chemicals we’re exposed to every day may affect our health. Dr. Pelch is a part-time Assistant Professor, Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology, in the HSC School of Public Health (SPH), where...Read more

Jun 21, 2021