Dean of Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences steps down; interim dean named

December 6, 2013

Jamboor K. Vishwanatha, PhD, who has served as Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at UNT Health Sciences Center for six years, has announced he is stepping down at the end of December.

Dr. Vishwanatha plans to devote his time to work related to diversifying the biomedical workforce. He also will serve as Special Assistant to the Provost for Minority Affairs.

Dr. Vishwanatha joined UNT Health Science Center in 2004 and is a renowned breast and prostate cancer researcher. He holds a doctorate from the University of South Carolina.

"I want to thank Dr. Vishwanatha for his six years of service as Dean of the GSBS, and for the many ways he is working to ensure greater diversity in the biomedical sciences and recognition for our institution," said Thomas Yorio, PhD, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Meharvan "Sonny" Singh, PhD, Professor and present Chairman of the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience, will serve as Interim Dean of the Graduate School while a national search is conducted. Dr. Singh currently is director of the Institute for Aging and Alzheimer’s Disease Research (IAADR), a position he will relinquish as Interim Dean.

Dr. Singh joined the faculty of UNT Health Science Center in 2001 and is recognized for his research on the role of hormones in the aging brain.
He received his doctorate from the University of Florida.

Sid O’Bryant, PhD, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, will become Interim Director of IAADR. Dr. O’Bryant joined the UNT Health Science Center faculty in 2012 and is a leading Alzheimer’s disease researcher. He earned a PhD from the University of Albany, State University of New York.

Michael Forster, PhD, Professor of Pharmacology and Neuroscience, will serve as Interim Chair of the Department. He joined the faculty of UNT Health Science Center in 1986 as a research assistant professor and is an expert in age-associated brain dysfuction. He earned his doctorate from Bowling Green State University.



Dr Arthur Eisenberg Fc
50 Heroes: Dr. Arthur Eisenberg

So many families with missing loved ones received closure thanks to Arthur “Art” Eisenberg. A pioneer in bringing DNA typing into both paternity testing and the field of forensic genetics, Dr. Eisenberg helped establish the UNT Center for Human Identification as well as The University of Nort...Read more

Jul 6, 2020

July 4th Covid 19 Fc
Navigating through July 4th and the summer of COVID-19

By Sally Crocker In light of new state guidelines issued last week, HSC public health expert Diana Cervantes offers some tips on how to conduct July 4th gatherings and other summertime activities with friends and family. The advice comes after the Texas Governor’s Office closed bars and ...Read more

Jun 30, 2020

Food Insecurity Donations Fc
Food insecurity concerns heighten for many as COVID-19 again surges

By Sally Crocker New HSC faculty member Charlotte Noble, PhD, MPH, and her family moved from Florida to Fort Worth in the early days of the COVID-19 pandemic, when little was yet known about the reach of the virus, its outcomes and how long it would last. Months later, as states like Texas...Read more

Jun 29, 2020

Mayor Price Fc
50 Heroes: Mayor Betsy Price

Mayor Betsy Price and HSC share a mission to create solutions for a healthier community. Price, first elected Mayor in 2011, has consistently promoted strategies and activities that improve the fitness, health and well-being of Fort Worth residents. Her devotion to elevating the city’s over...Read more

Jun 29, 2020