Surgeon honored for leadership and excellence

October 3, 2016

By Jan Jarvis



Several years ago Albert Yurvati, DO, presented a plaque to Guy D. Beaumont, Jr., who was retiring as executive director of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons (ACOS).

Back then, Dr. Yurvati said, he never imagined that he would one day receive an award bearing Beaumont’s name. But this month Dr. Yurvati, FACOS, FAHA, FICS, became the recipient of the Guy D. Beaumont, Jr., FACOS Award of Academic Excellence.

The honor, named for the longstanding executive director who retired in 2012, recognizes individuals for outstanding leadership and excellence in improving the quality of osteopathic education.

“I knew Guy Beaumont and knew his commitment to surgical education and professionalism,” said Dr. Yurvati, the Dallas Southwest Osteopathic Physicians Endowed Professor in Surgery and Chairman of the Department of Medical Education. “Having worked with him awhile on the executive board of the organization, I got to understand his drive for improving surgical education.”

Dr. Yurvati’s leadership, skill and research acumen are well known within the surgical profession, said Lane Mark Lee, DO, FACOS, and chair of the ACOS Awards Committee.

“He has been a mentor to countless young surgeons, including myself,” Dr. Lee said. “He has distinguished himself, not only an excellent surgeon and trainer, but also as a cutting-edge researcher.”

Dr. Yurvati has long shown his commitment to surgery and education. He recently completed his doctorate in education from Northcentral University. He is active in residency training, a Professor of Integrative Physiology at UNTHSC and an Adjunct Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of North Texas in Denton.

In addition he has served on many local, state and national committees and is a past president of the Metro Fort Worth American Heart Association.

“His national and international academic papers, projects, and appointments have earned him multiple awards, as well as acclaim and respect for the osteopathic surgical profession as a whole,” Dr. Lee said. “He has worked tirelessly for the profession, serving on national committees helping shape the security and future for osteopathic surgery.

“It is with great pleasure that the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons recognizes Dr. Al Yurvati as this year’s recipient.”

In 2013, the American College of Osteopathic Physicians recognized Dr. Yurvati with its highest award: the Orel F. Martin Medal. He was its youngest recipient.

Dr. Yurvati said he is delighted to receive the Guy D. Beaumont Award.

“It’s a big honor and totally unexpected,” he said.

Diana Cervantes. Assistant Professor Biostatistics & Epidemiology
Dr. Diana Cervantes named among Fort Worth’s ‘most influential’ for public health service during the pandemic

By Sally Crocker Dr. Diana Cervantes has spent the last year keeping people informed and updated on all things coronavirus, and now she’s being recognized as one of Fort Worth Inc.’s “400 Most Influential People” for helping protect the community’s health during the pandemic. Dr....Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Opal Lee photo by Rodger Mallison/Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Celebrating Juneteenth

By Diane Smith-Pinckney On June 19 1865, Major General Gordan Granger marched into Galveston with a critical message: “The people of Texas are informed that, in accordance with a Proclamation from the Executive of the United States, all slaves are free.”  This was the opening se...Read more

Jun 8, 2021

Dr. Scott Walters
The realities of ‘breaking bad’ and how one HSC researcher is attacking the opioid crisis

By Sally Crocker He didn’t know it at the time, but when Dr. Scott Walters was growing up in San Diego in the mid 1980s, a next-door neighbor was concealing a homemade meth lab just across the fence and mere steps away from his bedroom window. For quite some time, concerned parents in his fa...Read more

Jun 8, 2021

MET Building at UNTHSC
HSC Health Diabetes Education Service Merits ADA Recognition

The prestigious American Diabetes Association (ADA) Education Recognition Certificate for a quality diabetes self-management education and support (DSMES) service was recently awarded to the HSC Health Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support Program. ADA believes that this service offers high...Read more

Jun 8, 2021