Jessica Maack Rangel, MS, RN, ASPPS

Senior Fellow Nurse Executive

With over 30 year’s experience in the medical field, Jessica Maack Rangel has served as an innovator for the Patient Safety, High Reliability and Patient Advocacy environment at both the local, national and international level. Creating patient safety and advocacy curriculum for international implementation, Jessica has promoted an inter-professional approach to improve patient care and family outcomes. She is a master’s prepared, Registered Nurse who is recognized academically through Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society along with multiple leadership and patient safety awards.

Jessica’s expertise is also reflected in her former career as the Patient Safety Officer for both very large corporate acute care systems and acute care facilities. She has served on several advisory boards: most notably National Quality Forum, Medication Safety Subcommittees and The Professional Patient Advocate Institute Advisory Board. She is a member of the National Patient Safety Foundation and American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety.

She is a published, regular contributor to nursing text books as well as numerous articles regarding leadership, patient safety and advocacy. Currently serving as a Senior Fellow, Nurse Executive at the Institute for Patient Safety at the University of North Texas Health Science Center, she still maintains her Master Trainer TeamSTEPPS, Master Change Agent and Change Acceleration Process status.

Jessica obtained her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Armstrong Atlantic University followed by her Masters of Science from Mountain State University. Her Evidence Based Practice Fellowship training was at Texas Christian University. She served as a clinical instructor for both nursing and advance paramedic studies. Her early career included Level I Emergency Department nursing, flight nursing and neuro-trauma nursing. Jessica continues to be a passionate sponsor for the underserved and for overall healthcare

This page was last modified on January 24, 2018