Wagner named Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery

Russell Wagner, MD, has been named Chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, effective Feb. 1.

Wagner previously served as vice-chair of the department and director of the orthopaedic surgery residency at John Peter Smith Hospital.

He joined the Health Science Center in 2005. Wagner earned a bachelor of business administration degree and passed the Certified Public Accounting examination in 1981. In 1987, he graduated from UT Southwestern Medical School, completed a residency in orthopedic surgery at Wayne State University in Detroit and a fellowship in adult reconstruction with William Head and Roger Emerson in Dallas. In 1993, Wagner opened a private practice in Fort Worth. He was named physician of the year for Harris Methodist Hospital in 1999 and for John Peter Smith in 2008.

He is a past president of the Tarrant County Orthopaedic Society, and a member of the Texas Orthopaedic Society, Texas Medical Association, American Medical Association, American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, American Orthopaedic Association and the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons.

Wagner is a native of Stephenville, Texas. He and his wife, Kathryn, have six children.