UNTHSC Faculty Recognition Award – Nominate A Colleague Today

On behalf of the Faculty Senate and the Provost?s Office, we would like to make you aware of the Inaugural UNTHSC Faculty Recognition Awards. The request to develop these awards and funding originated with a discussion between Provost Yorio and the Faculty Senate Executive Committee more than one year ago.
Your participation is essential for the success of this special faculty-centric Peer-to-Peer recognition. The Faculty Recognition Awards Committee consists of a Senator and Faculty member selected from each of the five (5) current UNTHSC Colleges/Schools. As Immediate Past-President of the Faculty Senate, I serve as Chair of the committee that will review all submitted nominations. Members of the Committee and Academic Leaders (Chair and above) are not eligible for consideration of these awards.

Nominations will be accepted now through Friday, April 14, 2017. Faculty Recognition Award Criteria and Nomination Criteria are listed below.

Award Criteria To be selected, faculty must have demonstrated exemplary performance in at least two of the following categories with quality activity in at least three categories. The focus of the review will be over the past two years. Teaching ? to include classroom, clinical, online, mentoring students in research and/or internships, teaching patients, residents, graduate students and peers Research/scholarship ? to include grants, publications, awards, etc. Service ? to include clinical activity, professional, university and community service Leadership ? to include officerships in professional organizations, editorships of peer-reviewed journals, chairing committees, task forces and lab teams, etc. Use of these items and reference to the UNTHSC Faculty Bylaws guidelines for promotion in rank should govern nominations for this recognition.

Nomination Criteria ? Individuals who qualify for an award must have been at the HSC and active members of the faculty for at least three years; may not be a faculty member with administrative appointments (chair, institute director, dean, for example).

? Nominee?s primary appointment is to be 50% or more at the UNTHSC (from any school/college program or combination thereof). A list of the primary appointments of UNTHSC Faculty is maintained and available at the Office of Faculty Affairs. ? Nominations must be made by faculty who do not have administrative appointments (chair, institute director, dean, for example). ? The nomination will include a detailed letter describing the nominee?s accomplishments, and the CV of the nominee. Letters of nomination should contain no less than 500 words and no more than 1000 words. Nomination letters should be concise, and should specifically comment on the nominee?s credentials for the award. The letter should identify specific ways the nominee has met or exceeded the above mentioned guidelines for o teaching, o research/scholarship, o service, and o leadership ? One faculty from each school/college will be selected as a finalist. Of the five (5) finalists, one faculty will be selected as the overall winner. The overall UNTHSC Faculty Recognition Award winner will receive a cash award of $10,000 and the four other finalists will receive cash awards of $2500. Faculty who receive awards will not be eligible for the two years following receipt of an award. ? Nominees who do not meet the minimum criteria, as determined by the Faculty Award Committee, will not be considered for an award.

Please direct nomination materials and any questions to: Shay Singleterry, Faculty Affairs Associate Recording Secretary, Faculty Senate 817-735-2103

Your Faculty Senate Executive Committee: Dr. Bob Mallet, President Dr. Monte Troutman, President Elect Dr. Larry Cohen, Past President