John Bowling, DO, FACOFP dist. ACOFP Educator of the Year

Dr. de Regnier presented Dr. Bowling with the Educator of Year Award at this years ACOFP conference.

“The ACOFP Osteopathic Educator of the Year Award honors a member who encourages osteopathic principles when teaching, and who has an extraordinary effect on students, residents, and peers. That certainly defines Dr. John Bowling.

Dr. Bowling is a 1969 graduate of the A. T. Still University Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine. Following internship he practiced Family Medicine and Obstetrics for 18 years in Lancaster, Ohio, first mentoring students in his office in 1975, and then starting a Family Medicine residency program in Columbus in 1979.

Over Dr. Bowling?s 40 years as an osteopathic educator, 27 of those years have been full time in Texas, where he now serves as Professor of Family Medicine and Medical Education at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine and as its Associate Dean for Rural Medical Education.

John?s passion for rural medical education is paramount in his service to our profession. He created rural training guidelines that are affixed to our specialty?s basic standards. In fact, his thumbprint is on each page of our overall standards, having significantly revised them through his participation on ACOFP?s Committee on Education and Evaluation on which he served from 1993 to 2007.

And he represents our specialty at the national level, having recently been elected to the Board of the Rural Medical Educators Group ? a subcommittee of the National Rural Health Association where he is an advocate for rural medical education.

He now serves as a Director on the American Osteopathic Board of Family Physicians, and as that board?s liaison to the AOA Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists.

Dr. John Bowling?because of the lasting impact you have had on hundreds of osteopathic family physicians over four decades, and because you are an architect of residency training in osteopathic family medicine, the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians honors you as its 2015 Osteopathic Educator of the Year!”