FY15 Intramural Grants Program Additional Grantees Announced

The Division of Research & Innovation
FY2015 Intramural Grants Program

The Division of Research and Innovation is pleased to announce that further funding became available and additional grants for the Fiscal Year 2015 Intramural Grants Program have been awarded from this review cycle. This program is designed to advance and accelerate the research programs of UNTHSC faculty members and doctoral students. These intramural grants support pilot studies, data collection, data analyses and other research activities that will likely result in extramural grant support, enable the development of external partnerships, and/or enhance the commercial potential of UNT Health Science Center discoveries.

Faculty Research Pilot Grant was awarded to the following Principal Investigator:

I-MFA, a Potential Target for the Treatment of Diabetic Kidney Disease. Rong Ma, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Integrative Physiology and Anatomy

Faculty Research Bridge Grant was awarded to the following Principal Investigator:

Role of Endothelin Receptors in Glucomatous Optic Neuropathy. Raghu Krishnamoorthy, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Immunology

Doctoral Student Bridge Grant was awarded to the following PhD student and their mentor:

Sympathetic Threshold in Obstructive Sleep Apnea: The Role of Oxidative Stress. Noah Jouett, Department of Integrative Physiology and Anatomy, Dr. Michael L. Smith, Mentor.

Questions or Inquiries should be directed to:

Aurelio Rodriguez
Research Funding Development Manager
Office: CBH-207
Phone: 817-735-7649