Dr. Meredith Howard named Chair of the Pharmacotherapy Department, College of Pharmacy
February 7, 2022

Dr. Meredith Howard, Associate Professor, has been appointed as the Chair of Pharmacotherapy as of January 31, 2022. Dr. Howard has been performing as the Interim Chair since August 2021.

Dr. Howard brings valuable experience to the Chair role as a great clinician, didactic and experiential teacher and a scholar. She has a strong commitment to excellence in all of the College of Pharmacy mission areas, is dedicated to faculty success and well-being, and is focused on helping to make an impact on the college’s constituents as a top-notch College of Pharmacy.

In fact, she has already made invaluable contributions as an Interim Chair in many ways. Dr. Howard has helped build partnerships with clinical sites, mentored junior faculty, and developed optimal ways to conduct the college’s experiential teaching while optimizing new faculty recruitment to serve the mission.

Dr. Howard is well known for her thoughtful contributions over the years and her impressive credentials. She was voted by her students as Pharmacotherapy Teacher of the Year in 2019 and P3 Faculty of the Year in 2020.

As a researcher, Dr. Howard has published in leading, high-impact journals related to student learning and innovative approaches to patient care in her internal medicine practice. As an educator, she is valued for her focus on practical skills, her professionalism and dedication, and the creative methods she uses to teach complex topics.

Dr. Howard is active in local and national pharmacy organizations and currently serves as Chair for the American College of Clinical Pharmacy’s Education and Training Practice and Research Network (EDTR PRN).

Congratulations to Dr. Howard on her new role!

S. Suresh Madhavan, MBA, PhD, FAPhA
Dean and Professor
HSC College of Pharmacy