College of Pharmacy announces faculty promotions

May 6, 2022 • Uncategorized

Congratulations to the following faculty on their promotions. We are so proud of their contributions and achievements!

Effective September 1, Dr. Rebecca Cunningham will be promoted to Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. In the Department of Pharmacotherapy, Dr. Crystal (Howell) Hodge and Dr. Brittany (Palasik) Torres will be promoted to Associate Professors, and Dr. Tony Palmer will be promoted to Adjunct Professor.


Rebecca L. Cunningham, PhDDr. Rebecca Cunningham joined the HSC School of Biomedical Sciences (SBS) in 2010 as a Research Assistant Professor and was promoted to Assistant Professor in 2014 and Associate Professor with tenure in 2017. In 2019, Dr. Cunningham’s faculty appointment was transferred to the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and in 2021, she was appointed Associate Dean for Research.

Dr. Cunningham’s independent research program studies the role of steroid hormones known as androgens, their associated signaling mechanisms, and their effects on the function of the central nervous system. She has published more than 35 peer-reviewed publications and earned multiple extramural funding awards from the National Institutes of Health as well as non-profit agencies such as the Alzheimer’s Association. Her research and philanthropy work has led to recognition by the Fort Worth Business Press as a “Healthcare Hero” in 2016 and as one of the “Great Women of Texas” in 2019.


Crystal HowellDr. Crystal (Howell) Hodge joined the college in 2017 as an infectious diseases clinical faculty member and was the recipient of the inaugural College of Pharmacy Outstanding Teaching Award in 2020. She has taught throughout the curriculum in topics related to her specialty and currently practices as an infectious disease clinical pharmacy specialist at UT Southwestern in Dallas.

Dr. Hodge is an accomplished clinical researcher and her area of expertise is in the transplant/ immunocompromised infectious diseases. Additionally, she is an avid educator for public health and has served as a major HSSCP media “go to” contributor for topics pertaining to the COVID-19 pandemic.





PalasikDr. Brittany (Palasik) Torres joined the college in 2017 as an internal medicine clinical faculty member. She has an active clinical practice in internal medicine at Medical City Fort Worth where she precepts P4 students on rotation while also contributing greatly to teaching and service-related efforts throughout the college. She is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist.

Dr. Torres currently serves as the co-curricular chair and is a major contributor and leader of implementation of co-curricular efforts. Dr. Torres’ passions include student support and well-being, and she is an HSC wellness fellow and a champion for student and employee well-being within the College of Pharmacy.




Heads Up

Dr. Tony Palmer joined the Department of Pharmacotherapy in 2013 and has served in various teaching and precepting roles, primarily instructing in the first- and second-year courses and skills labs.

Dr. Palmer has worked in the pharmacy profession and education for nearly three decades and is a well-respected community and consultant pharmacist. With consistently highly rated teaching scores, Dr. Palmer is known for his dedication to student learning and professional growth. His dedication to quality teaching is also evidenced by his completion of the Certificate of Excellence in Teaching at the HSC Center for Innovative Learning in 2019.

Recently named a 2022 Career Champion Award winner, Dr. Palmer was recognized for his mentorship and guidance to students in building their professional network and personal brand and connecting students with employment opportunities.