Thomas Moorman, EdD

Vice President for Student Affairs

thomas moormanDr. Thomas Moorman is responsible for coordinating student life from matriculation through graduation and works closely with school deans, chairs and program directors to address student needs and create an atmosphere that stimulates learning. As head of the Division of Student Affairs, he oversees the activities of the Financial Aid Office, the Office of the Registrar, the Office of Testing and Evaluation, the Center for Academic Performance, the Student Development Office, the Office of Health Promotion, International Student Services, Title IX, Career Services, and Student Conduct and Discipline.

After joining UNTHSC in 1994, Dr. Moorman served in several roles and has been recognized by the Medical Student Government Association, Graduate Student Association, and Public Health Student Association for distinguished service. The Medical Student Government Association renamed their annual unsung hero award after him.

Dr. Moorman earned his Doctor of Education degree from the University of North Texas, where he was recognized as the Outstanding Doctoral Student in the Higher Education Program. He completed both his bachelor’s degree in Psychology and his master’s degree in Educational Psychology at Texas A&M University.

He is the past chair of the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine Council of Osteopathic Medical Student Services Officers. He currently serves as the legislative liaison for the Council of Student Service Vice Presidents as well as on the City of Weatherford’s Parks and Recreation Board and the Weatherford ISD’s Health Advisory Committee. A 2005 graduate of the Leadership Fort Worth program, he has served as a mentor for the LeaderKids program and as a board member of the Greater Fort Worth-Arlington Chapter of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation.

He served as President of the Texas Association of College and University Student Personnel Administrators from 2006 to 2007. In 2012, the Association recognized Dr. Moorman with its highest award, the James Caswell Distinguished Service Award.

This page was last modified on March 13, 2015