Holiday Calendar for FY 2016-2017

Listed below is the UNT Health Science Center’s holiday schedule for Fiscal Year 2017 as approved by the Board of Regents.

Holiday Calendar for FY 2016-2017 (Sept. 1, 2016 – Aug. 31, 2017)

Labor Day* Monday Sept. 5, 2016
Thanksgiving Day* Thursday Nov. 24, 2016
Day after Thanksgiving* Friday Nov. 25, 2016
Day after Christmas Day* Monday Dec. 26, 2016
Winter Break Tuesday Dec. 27, 2016
Winter Break Wednesday Dec. 28, 2016
Winter Break Thursday Dec. 29, 2016
Winter Break Friday Dec. 30, 2016
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday January 16, 2017
Memorial Day* Monday May 29, 2017
Independence Day* Tuesday July 4, 2017
Floating Day 1 Employee choice with supervisory approval; must be used by Aug. 31, 2017
Floating Day 2 Employee choice with supervisory approval; must be used by Aug. 31, 2017

* Holidays to be observed by clinics.

Employees may observe traditionally recognized religious or cultural holidays by substituting a floating day, vacation or compensatory leave for one or more of the holidays shown or with supervisory approval by working on one or more of the holidays shown above. An employee can be required to work on a holiday, but shall be given alternate time off within a twelve month period following the holiday worked at a rate of one hour for each hour worked, to be taken on a date mutually agreed upon by the employee and the supervisor. Departments may adopt internal policies that allow the department official to designate an alternate holiday schedule.

This page was last modified on March 31, 2016